You can download the full Regimental Chess manual here: Rule Book printable version
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What’s the fastest way to learn the game?
Easy. Watch one or two videos from Brigadier Bacon’s Strategies And Tactics. You’ll get an idea not only of what moves are good and what are better, but you’ll also understand the essence of formations and capturing. When you start the computer game, just left click on a piece and the program will highlight your options in green and show you where you can go. It’s fairly self explanatory. We suggest you take a quick look at the FAQ on moving the knights or “fewest possible words”, below.
How do you explain the rules in the fewest possible words.
Individual pieces all move and capture the same way as in original chess, except infantrymen (formerly pawns), which move or capture one space forward, either diagonally or straight, until they reach the last row. Once there, they can move one space in any direction.
The difference from original chess is that you can move multiple pieces in formation. To make formation, there are several requirements.
- The pieces must be compatible (able to move in the same way). For example, queens and bishops are compatible because they can both move diagonally.
- The pieces must be either on adjacent squares or have each other covered (“mutual support”).
- Additionally, the pieces must move in exactly the same direction and same number of spaces.
A moving formation can capture large groups of opposing pieces in its path. If higher ranking pieces lead the charge, you can pierce the enemy and capture into ranks behind. The computer will show you.
Only one infantryman (from each division) can make a capture in any turn.
For multiple board Regimental Chess, each division gets to “command” a move during each turn. Four divisions means four moves. You can select one piece from a particular division, then any other piece in the same formation and make a move. No piece can move twice in a single turn.
When a king is captured, his division is removed from the board. The game is won when the last king falls.
How do I move the knights around?
Knights move in formation in two different ways. One way is that they all move in exactly the same direction and the same number of spaces. In that case, just click from piece to piece to select, then move them in the direction you want.
The other way is where one knight moves to a new space and the others simply follow behind (each knight moving to the space of the knight before it). In that case, hold down the shift button when you select your pieces, then move the horse you want to the square you want and the rest will follow.
How do I select and move a formation?
- First, left click on a piece. That piece will highlight with a green flame. You’ll also see green squares around every other piece you can move in the same formation. Click the second piece you want to join the formation, and so on until you have all the pieces you intend to move.
- Then, left click on the formation you selected and hold down, then drag your formation where you want to move it. If the rules allow the move, green arrows will appear showing where you can go. If you’re trying to go where the rules do not allow, a red “X” will appear.
- Once you let go of your mouse, the move will be made.
- Be careful, it’s like taking your finger off a piece or issuing an order in combat. Once the move is made, there’s no taking it back.
How do I look around/navigate/move my view?
Navigating is easy and there are several ways.
- You can click on the compass in the upper upper right hand corner.
- You can click on the “Board” buttons on the bottom and slide left and right.
- You can click the arrow keys on your keyboard to move your view around.
- You can zoom in or zoom out with the scroll button on your mouse.
- You can right click your mouse and move your view around.
Do the pieces move the same as in regular chess?
All but the pawns move the same as in regular chess. These are “infantry” and move like a Greek Phalanx. They move and/or capture only one space at a time, and either diagonally or straight forward. Once one piece in their formation reaches the last row, they can move or capture once space in any direction.
Why can’t I move past the first 8 rows in the first turn?
The rules won’t let you move past the 8th row in the first turn. This gives each side a chance to move exposed pieces out of harm’s way.
Why can’t I capture multiple pieces with infantrymen/pawns?
or Why does my infantry refuse to move when I sometimes try it?
These two questions are basically the same. Only one infantryman can make a capture per turn. It’s common to find your infantry pressed up against your opponent’s pieces. When that happens the computer will only let you make a capture with one infantryman.
Just remember, in multiple board game, one infantryman from each army can make a capture, so it’s a good idea to combine them when possible.
Also remember, one infantryman can make a capture when moving in formation with rooks, queens, bishops or the king – which can all make captures of their own.
How do I decide who commands a move in Multiple Board Regimental Chess?
The first piece you click on “commands” the move. For example, if you first click on a bishop from the green division, then click bishops and queens from the orange division to move with it. Your move will count against the green army. Notice that the icons at the top of your screen will grey out the divisions whose command has been expended.
Same goes with knights. First click on the horse with the color you want to command from, then select the rest of the formation, then drag the curser in the direction you want and let go.
What if I encounter a problem?
This is our “Beta”. We’ve tested it for months for every kind of problem we can find. By now, we’ve squashed every bug and fixed every glitch there is… or have we? It’s always possible that volume playing will reveal what never popped up before.
If you have a gripe, frustration, grudge, problem, bug, bone to chew or nit to pick, send us a comment. Be as specific as you can.